Scientific Games reappoints Steve Beason as ‘rapidly expanding’ ilottery market takes centrestage

Scientific Games
Image: Shutterstock

Scientific Games has confirmed the appointment of Steve Beason as its new President of Digital and Sports Betting, citing its ilottery market as a major focus for the company.

Beason rejoins Scientific Games six years after he initially left the company, which is now 100% lottery-focused since the company was sold to Brookfield Business Partners in April 2022, while its gaming and igaming groups rebranded as Light & Wonder.

Previously, Beason held the positions of Enterprise Chief Technology Officer and President of Scientific Games’ Lottery Systems group between 2005 and 2016.

Most recently, Beason was Group CTO for Inspired Entertainment, and his four decades-long experience also includes seven years as CTO for The Hong Kong Jockey Club, one of the world’s oldest and premier gaming operators.

Scientific Games CEO Pat McHugh said: “Steve’s experience and hands-on team approach make him a perfect fit to complement our Executive Leadership Team. He’ll add immediate value across our technology, operations, content, and services offerings with a global view on commercially developing our business.

“Under Steve’s leadership, as we continue to accelerate growth, our digital product innovation will enhance each of our existing product lines, expanding play and promotion of lottery games.”

McHugh added that the ‘rapidly expanding’ ilottery and sports betting markets are a major focus for Scientific Games.

“Our recent successes in Denmark, Hungary, Turkey, and Azerbaijan, where we deliver integrated programs for lottery instant games, draw games and sports betting across retail and digital channels, have created opportunities and an exciting need to expand our technology leadership across all lottery categories and consumer experiences.”

Beason joins McHugh on the Scientific Games Executive Leadership Team, which also includes John Schulz, President Americas and Global Instant Products; Jim Bunitsky, Chief Financial Officer; Michael Conforti, President, International and Strategic Accounts; Jennifer Welshons, Chief Marketing Officer; Dena Rosenzweig, Chief Legal Officer; Stephen Richardson, Chief Administrative and Compliance Officer; Walt Eisele, Chief Technology Officer; and Jeff Martineck, Senior Vice President, Products and Innovation.