Damian Green named DCMS Committee Acting Chair ahead of gambling inquiry
Image: Shutterstock

The DCMS has moved to strengthen the leadership of the UK Gambling Commission (UKGC) by appointing seven new Commissioners, each bringing a specific area of expertise to the regulator.

Charles Counsell, Helen Dodds, Sheree Howard and Claudia Mortimore will fulfil their duties for five year terms, whilst Lloydette Bai-Marrow, Helen Philips and David Rossington will serve at the UKGC for four years.

Enhancement of the UKGC’s regulatory remit and powers was a key recommendation of the Gambling Act review White Paper that was published in April, but the regulator’s leadership under Chief Executive Andrew Rhodes has noted that it will need more resources to achieve this.

The DCMS appointment of the seven new Commissioners, who commenced their respective roles on 11 September, may be indicative of support for this planned strengthening of the regulator.

Charles Counsell OBE’s primary contribution to the UKGC will be his experience of delivering programmes based on stakeholder relationship engagement in both the private and public sector.

His career has been defined by a tenure as CEO of the Pensions Regulator between April 2019 and March 2023, where he delivered a pensions saver, equality, diversity and inclusion and climate change strategies, as well as a term as CEO of the Money Advice Service.

The new Commissioner’s experience of stakeholder relationships and engagement may be highly useful for the UKGC as it – along with DCMS – conducts consultations with a range of  betting industry reform stakeholders.

The first round of consultations, covering areas such as financial risk checks and safe game design, concluded on 18 October. The second round is now underway, with the research, education and treatment (RET) levy one of the focal areas.

Meanwhile Dodds’ experience is in the legal field, having worked as an international lawyer, consultant and board member, currently holding the latter position at the Human Tissue Authority.

She is also a Director and Trustee of the St John’s Eye Hospital Group, a Director of LegalUK, and an Honorary Senior Fellow of the British Institute of International and Comparative Law, and has previously been a board member of the London Court of International Arbitration.

The Commission’s legal oversight is further strengthened by criminal law expert Claudia Mortimore, a veteran executive of the Revenue and Customs Prosecutions Office, who has prosecuted high-profile legal cases in drugs, tax, and money-laundering offences.

Equipped with 25-years of executive experience in corporate finance, Sheree Howard serves as the current executive director of Risk and Compliance for the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA). Alongside her professional career, she has dedicated over a decade as a Governor and Chair for a Special Needs School and offers pro bono counsel to various charities.

An expert in public health and the management of non-profit organisations, Helen Phillips is the current Chair of NHS Professionals Ltd and the Chartered Insurance Institute.

Phillips has actively participated in governance and oversight roles, including serving as an independent Chair of the Legal Services Board, a Non-Executive Director at Social Work England, in addition to holding positions in higher education, schools, and the water industry, showcasing versatility and commitment to public service.

Lloydette Bai-Marrow is an economic crime lawyer and the Founding Partner of Parametric Global Consulting. She serves as the Chair of Spotlight on Corruption, is affiliated with several anti-corruption and advocacy organisations and co-founded the Black Women in Leadership Network (BWIL) to promote black women into leadership roles.

David Rossington (CB) is a high-ranking UK civil servant, who has worked on transformation projects for DCMS and other departments.

Since retiring, Rossington has actively contributed to various committees and charities, including serving as Deputy Chair of the Advisory Committee on National Records and Archives, and holding treasurer roles at Stoll and Arts at the Old Fire Station.

Commissioners appointed to the Gambling Commission will receive an annual remuneration of £14,160, with these appointments being conducted in compliance with the Cabinet Office’s Governance Code on Public Appointments.

None of the appointed individuals have declared any significant political activity within the past five years as defined by the Governance Code.