The Global Lottery Monitoring System (GLMS) has announced it has elected Lori Sullivan, Executive Vice President (EVP) and Chief Operating Officer (COO) at Canada’s Ontario Lottery and Gaming Corporation (OLG), to its Executive Committee.

Sullivan has been elected to the committee following the resignation of Sami Kauhanen from his post at Finland’s Veikkhaus at the end of August 2020. She has served in a senior capacity in the lottery and gaming industry for almost a decade.

As EVP and COO at OLG, Sullivan is currently responsible for the business performance of the corporation’s lines of activity including sports betting, which uphold high standards of game integrity, regulatory compliance, player protection, responsible gambling and social responsibility.

Before she joined OLG, Sullivan was a partner at the law firm Davies, Ward, Phillips & Vineberg LLP as a corporate transactional attorney.

Sullivan said upon her election to the committee: “I am pleased to be able to support the efforts of GMLS to promote and ensure the integrity of worldwide sports betting.”

Ludovico Calvi, GLMS President, added: ”I am really delighted to welcome Lori on our GLMS Executive Committee. She brings to GLMS tremendous experience not only as a prominent North American Lottery Executive but also as the former OLG General Counsel.”

He continued: “I am confident that Lori will enhance the profile and awareness of GLMS among North American industry partners, stakeholders, regulators, policy makers, sport organizations and law enforcement agencies.

“It is one of our strategic priorities to acquire new members in North America, as many States and Provinces are regulating sports betting and there is a need to advocate and educate legislators and policy makers on best practices for creating and implementing effective integrity measures for a responsible and sustainable betting market environment.”

Per the GLMS statutes, members of the Executive Committee sit as individuals and may not be replaced by representatives. They exercise their role as Executive Committee members in complete independence and receive no instructions from others.

The GLMS Executive Committee comprises eight members, each from a different country, including four members elected at a Regular General Meeting and four members appointed by the founding Collective Members – European Lotteries and World Lottery Association.

The current GLMS Executive Committee Members until Spring 2021 are:

  • Ludovico Calvi (President, from Lottomatica, Italy) 
  • Rupert Bolingbroke (Vice-President, from Hong Kong Jockey Club, Hong Kong)
  • Younès El-Mechrafi (from La Marocaine des Jeux et des Sports, Morocco)
  • Niels Erik Folmann (from Danske Spil, Denmark)
  • Fabian Garcia (from La Banca, Uruguay)
  • Ilho Lee (from Ktoto, South Korea)
  • Gilles Maillet (from La Française des Jeux, France)
  • Lori Sullivan (from Ontario Lottery and Gaming Corporation, Canada)