MUSL appoints David Barden as new Board President in FY2023 reshuffle

Image: Shutterstock

The Board of Directors of the Multi-State Lottery Association (MUSL) has unanimously elected David Barden as its new Board President.

Barden has served as Chair of the MUSL Legal Committee since July 2020 and will begin his term as Board President on Friday, July 1.

He was also Powerball Product Chair from 2018-19 and Lotto America Product Group Chair in 2017.

“MUSL has created and enhanced some of the most preeminent lottery games in the world, and I am both honoured and humbled to lead such an outstanding association,” said Barden.

“We’ll continue to build on MUSL’s success by developing new game content for our members and investing in opportunities that strengthen our existing brands.”

Meanwhile, Cindy Polzin, Wisconsin Lottery Director, and Matt Strawn, Iowa Lottery CEO, will serve as Board Vice President and Secretary, respectively, for fiscal year 2023.

Members of the Powerball Product Group also unanimously elected Drew Svitko, Executive Director of the Pennsylvania Lottery, to be Powerball Product Group Chair.

He will be assisted by Vice Chair Tom Seaver, Director of the Colorado Lottery, who has served as Vice Chair of the Powerball Product Group since 2020 and Chair of the MUSL Development Committee from 2019-2021.

“MUSL is a substantial organisation with diverse members,” said Svitko. “It managed to implement big changes to Powerball last year, including adding a third weekly drawing and the Double Play add-on feature.

“We aren’t going to let a good year divert us from progressively managing the product so that Powerball is positioned for future success.”

The Lotto America Product Group will be led by Chair Adam Prock, Minnesota Lottery Executive Director, and Vice Chair Matt Strawn.