The Michigan Lottery has received re-certification for its commitment to responsible gaming after completing the Internet Responsible Gambling Compliance Assessment Program (iCAP) through the National Council on Problem Gambling (NCPG).

The Wolverine State lottery first earned iCAP certification back in October 2015 and it was the first lottery in the United States to achieve this status.

Developed by the NCPG, iCAP is the first and only online responsible gaming assessment program in the US. The NCPG evaluated the lottery’s compliance with Internet Responsible Gaming (IRG) standards developed based on best practices from jurisdictions around the world. IRG standards are the highest standards for online responsible gaming in the nation.

The nine areas of focus for the NCPG iCAP certification are:

  • Corporate policy and commitment to responsible gaming
  • Staff training
  • Information available to players through the lottery’s website and account features to assist players in informed decision making
  • Assisting players who indicate they are in distress or experiencing problems
  • Self-exclusion and player-initiated restrictions on online play
  • Advertising and promotion
  • Game and website features that assist with gambling responsibly
  • Research-based on the transparency of play data
  • Payment controls and limits

iCAP re-certification provides players with the assurance that the lottery’s website is trustworthy and has adopted the best standards of player protection.

Back in October, the lottery extended its existing software license agreement with Scientific Games.