PM appoints Julian Glover OBE and Taryn Nixon as NLHF trustees

Image: Shutterstock

Julian Glover OBE and Taryn Nixon have been appointed as trustees of the National Lottery Heritage Fund (NLHF) by the UK Prime Minister Boris Johnson.

The duo began their roles on May 1 and their terms of service have been agreed until April 30, 2025, which will take them to three years in the position.

Glover, an author and journalist with extensive experience of working with the government, will chair the NLHF’s Midlands and East regional committee.

Meanwhile, Nixon, an archaeologist with a background of leadership in the historic environment sector, will chair the regional committee for London and the South.

Additionally, Glover and Nixon have been appointed as trustees of the National Heritage Memorial Fund, with their dual roles earning each £13,500 per annum.

These appointments have been made in accordance with the Cabinet Office’s Governance Code on Public Appointments.

The appointments process is regulated by the Commissioner for Public Appointments. Under the code, any significant political activity undertaken by an appointee in the last five years must be declared.

Glover declared having canvassed for independent candidates in the 2019 election, while Nixon declared no political activity.

Last December, the NLHF announced it had raised £1.8bn in total income to provide towards good causes in FY2020/21.